Summer essentials part 1

Summer is finally here and with it comes the usual unbearably hot weather, so I thought I would compile a list of my summer essentials. These are the things I personally love to have during summer as in these hotter months it helps to be prepared.

The first thing is a cap this is undoubtedly a must have for the summer months, I love wearing a hat during summer it has some great benefits. Hats block out the sun and they can be absolute life savers as they are extremely easy to throw on. It is hot and humid and most hairstyles do not hold up well through a hot summers day so instead of worrying about that just put a hat on and you are set.

Now my personal preference is a six panel cap also known as the dad hat, these have been in style for a while now and I personally love them.  They just look a lot more sleek then a snap/strap back or camp cap. Its overall aesthetic is a lot smaller and streamlined and really fits in perfectly with the current trends of minimalist fashion.

Now the two six panels I have is a Ralph Lauren Polo one I got from House of Fraser it is plain black with a red logo and goes with any outfit. I have worn the absolute hell out of this hat and it shows in its unique fading’s that have developed over time, which I like it gives it some character. If you are only going to get one hat this summer I would highly recommend one of these. They look classic and come in so many colours, you will defiantly find the perfect one.IMG_6622

Now the second hat I have I went a little more adventurous with it is the MKI Wool Peak Baseball Cap by MKI Miyuki-Zoku which I got at End Clothing. It is a charcoal coloured hat that features the MKI Miyuki-Zoku branding it is all very basic like the Ralph Lauren cap however what caught my eye is that it was made out of wool giving it a very unique appearance which I found very appealing. Now my biggest reserve when purchasing this hat was that the wool would make it unbearably hot when wearing it in the summer. However after wearing it quite a few times the difference in temperature if anything is minuscule my head did not feel any hotter in it than any other hat.IMG_6624

The second thing you need for the summer are some comfortable shorts, by this I mean either some athletic shorts or some jogger shorts. For me when it comes to shorts I am not the biggest fan of chino shorts for day to day wear as I prefer to dress them up. And denim shorts can get a little uncomfortable for me when the temperature is very hot so athletic shorts fit this gap perfectly, they are incredible for days that have a lot of activities. Also to me the comfy slouchy aesthetic looks great for the summer as well as being very practical.

Now the comfy shorts I own are some Adidas exercise shorts, I am not a 100% certain what the exact name is but you can find a lot of similar models on their website or in store. I own a black and navy pair and they go great with a pair of runners and a plain t-shirt. The only down fall they have is the lack of pockets, if you do wear these on a day out you have to bring a bag to store you are phone, keys, ect.

However jogger shorts fix this problem, the ones I own are a grey and charcoal Champion sweat shorts which I found at Tkmaxx. But you can find jogger shorts in literally every high street store. They are perfect for summer as they are extremely comfortable and have pockets, the only downside is that they are thicker than the Adidas shorts although it does not make too much of a difference.

Now while I said denim shorts do get uncomfortable on long day they are still a necessity and that is why they are my third summer essential. While I would love to spend every day in comfortable athletic shorts sometimes you cannot, occasionally you have to wear slightly nicer shorts. They are perfect for day trips where it is too hot for jeans but you want a similar style, they pair great with an oversized t-shirt and pair of Adidas Stan Smiths or Old Skool Vans.

The two pairs I own are both from Primark but you can find alternative again literally anywhere. I have a plain black pair which match with anything, and a light blue distressed pair which I got last year. However I am still debating whether I like them I am not sure yet I am going to have to wear them a few times before I have a verdict.

I hope this will help you through the upcoming months of summer, I will be posting a part two very soon with some more of my essentials.

Leave a Reply

