Thoughts on the Air Jordan 1 Banned

On September 3rd the Air Jordan 1 Banned re released for the first time in three years, bringing back the iconic silhouette in its most famous colour way.

While this shoe was released in a number of retailers  stock was still limited making the shoe just as rare and sought after as past releases this evidently increased the hype in the sneaker community.

I was lucky enough to be able to purchase myself a pair from Nike.com and I have been wearing them for the past two weeks.

The quality of the leather was one of the main topics surrounding this release, this is because when the shattered backboard colour way released for the Air Jordan 1 it set the new standard for quality expected from Jordan brand.

A lot of debate has occurred in the community whether this releases has been up to par, honestly I could not be a hundred percent certain as I do not own the shattered backboards, however I am very pleased with the quality.

The red leather is tumbled and incredibly soft to the touch and truly has a premium feel to it, while the black leather seems average at best there could be improvements made but for the price point it defiantly meets expectations.

My other thought on this shoe is that the comfort is actually rather surprising, they are comfortable, really comfortable especially for a shoe designed in 1985.

I have been on my feet all day in them twice now and I have loved the comfort, I am accustomed to running trainers such as the Adidas Ultra Boosts which prides itself on their comfort and honestly these Jordan 1’s did not disappoint.

My feet did not ache at the end of either of these long days, the support they give around the ankle feels great and the Nike Air certainly makes them feel light and responsive when walking.

An added point is they fit rather wide which for me is a blessing as it gave me a greater support which a lot of narrow shoes do not offer.

A further side note is that I love how this release of the shoe has attempted to stay as close to the 1985 release as possible.

Little details such as having the original higher cut of the shoe, the white insole, the trademark logo on the Nike Air and the sample stamp on the inside have made this shoe feel all the more special.

This has been may favourite shoe for some time now and for good reason, they have been a staple in both the sneaker and street wear community.

The shoe has a lot of history surrounding it in both in fashion and sport they have remained truly timeless and I would recommend them to anyone.

img_8407
Instagram: anthonywolny

 

Leave a Reply

