Poznan a journey into the Renaissance

Over the summer I had the pleasure of visiting Poznan a city in Poland renowned for its university, Renaissance style architecture, beautiful old market square and its high end shopping atmosphere.

When walking around my initial reaction was a mixture of shock and pleasant surprise due to the amount of street art I saw just strolling around. It was great exploring the side streets and keeping an eye out for all kinds of contemporary art plastered onto walls.img_7675

The old market square was where I spent the bulk of my time in Poznan and with good reason. From the moment I entered it felt like I was on a psychedelic trip everywhere I turned beautiful bright buildings were glaring in front of me.

The architecture in the square is breath taking, it was like stepping into the renaissance, I felt like I was on the set of a play and everything around me was hollow and two dimensional. It did not seem real when looking at it, and that is what gave it such unique feel. The only thing putting a damper on it was the stalls selling tack however I can overlook them as the general aesthetic for the square was regardless incredible.img_7630

In the square you will find the Church of St. Stanislaus which is definitely a must visit if you are there as it is absolutely magnificent. While walking to the church a nearby apartment was blasting music out which could be heard a few streets away. It gave the whole experience at the church a rather absurd feel, nether the less it was enjoyable having the music in the background. It felt quite taboo hearing viciously loud dance music while strolling round a church, it added to the whole experience a sense of uniqueness that cannot be planned.

When walking around the old square I definitely recommend exploring, if you find a quaint side street take a gander, the chance is you will find something worthwhile. That being said if the street you are on looks dingy I would recommend finding somewhere else. Quite a few of the streets were overrun by takeaways which dampened the whole aesthetic leading my journey elsewhere. However with that being said moments after I found a quirky looking street that lead to one of the most unique looking cafes I have ever seen.

After exploring the square I went to the shopping centre in the more modern part of the city which is a paradise for any avid shopper. The shopping centre has everything from mid range brands to high end brands, sport clothing to high fashion clothing everything you want it has it covered.

Leave a Reply

